Qualifying begins: 20 June

The Draw: 24 June

Pre-event Press Conferences: 25 & 26 June

Order of Play: 26 June

Championships begin: 27 June

We use simple text files called cookies, saved on your computer, to help us deliver the best experience for you. Click continue to acknowledge that you are happy to receive cookies from
CONTINUE >Find out more
Visitor A to Z
Highlights from the history of The All England Club and The Championships. READ MORE


  • 1877: The first Championships


  • 1884: The first Ladies’ Championships
  • 1887: Lottie Dodd
  • 1889: William Renshaw


  • 1897: The Doherty Brothers


  • 1905: May Sutton
  • 1908: The Olympics at Wimbledon


  • 1920: Clean sweep for Lenglen
  • 1922: Challenge Round abolished
    Wimbledon moves to Church Road
  • 1924: No.1 Court opened
  • 1925: Suzanne Lenglen
  • 1926: The King plays at Wimbledon
  • 1927: Henri Cochet v Jean Borotra


  • 1931: Sydney Wood
  • 1933: Jack Crawford v Ellsworth Vines
  • 1935: Helen Wills Moody v Jacobs
  • 1936: Fred Perry’s third title
  • 1937: The first television coverage
    Dorothy Round wins Singles, Doubles and Mixed
    Donald Budge v Gottfried Von Cramm
  • 1938: Bunny Austin
    Donald Budge
    Helen Wills Moody’s Eighth
Purchase Towels


  • 1940: Centre Court bombed
  • 1949: Gussie Moran
    Ted Schroeder


  • 1953: Maureen Connolly v Doris Hart
    Jaroslav Drobny v Budge Patty
  • 1954: Maureen Connolly
  • 1956: Lew Hoad v Ken Rosewall
  • 1957: The Queen’s visit
    Althea Gibson
  • 1958: Ashley Cooper v Neale Fraser


  • 1961: Angela Mortimer v Christine Tr
  • 1964: Dorothy Cavis-Brown
    Margaret Court v Maria Bueno
  • 1968: The first Open Wimbledon
  • 1969: Pancho Gonzalez v Charlie Pasarell


  • 1970: Margaret Court v Billie Jean King
    John Newcombe v Ken Rosewall
  • 1971: Evonne Goolagong v Margaret Court
    Ken Rosewall
  • 1972: Stan Smith v Ilie Nastase
  • 1973: The Strike
  • 1974: Jimmy Connors and Chris Evert
  • 1975: Arthur Ashe wins Wimbledon
  • 1976: Bjorn Borg v Ilie Nastase
    The rise of Chris Evert
  • 1977: Virginia Wade
    The Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Museum
    Bjorn Borg v Vitas Gerulaitis
    Bjorn Borg v Jimmy Connors
    John McEnroe v Jimmy Connors
  • 1978: Chris Evert v Martina Navratilova
  • 1979: Billie Jean King wins 20th title


  • 1980: Billie Jean King v Martina Navratilova
    Bjorn Borg v John McEnroe
  • 1981: Bjorn Borg v John McEnroe
    You cannot be serious
  • 1982: John McEnroe v Jimmy Connors
  • 1984: Celebrating Fred Perry’s 50th
  • 1985: A curious fashion statement
    Lighting strikes Centre Court
    Boris Becker
  • 1987: Pat Cash
    Chris Evert v Martina Navratilova
    Jimmy Connors v Mikael Perfors
  • 1988: Chris Evert v Martina Navratilova
    Steffi Graf wins maiden title


  • 1990: A record for Navratilova
    Boris Becker v Stefan Edberg
  • 1991: Steffi Graf v Gabriela Sabatini
    Middle Sunday
  • 1992: Andre Agassi v Goran Ivanisevic
    John McEnroe v Michael Stich
  • 1993: The Long Term Plan
    Steffi Graf v Jana Novotna
  • 1994: Steffi Graf v Lori McNeil
    Conchita Martinez v Martina Navratilova
  • 1995: Tim Henman and the ball girl
    Arantxa Sanchez Vicario v Steffi Graf
    Jeff Tarango’s tantrum
  • 1996: The streaker
    Sir Cliff Richard
  • 1997: Middle Sunday
    Tim Henman v Paul Haarhuis
    Martina Hingis
    The new No.1 Court
  • 1998: Martina Hingis v Jelena Dokic
  • 1999: Steffi Graf v Venus Williams
    Pete Sampras v Andre Agassi


  • 2000: Venus Williams v Lindsay Davenport
    Pat Rafter v Andre Agassi
    Pete Sampras wins seventh title
  • 2001: Tim Henman v Goran Ivanisevic
    Pete Sampras v Roger Federer
    Goran Ivanisevic v Pat Rafter
  • 2002: Pete Sampras v George Bastl
  • 2003: Lleyton Hewitt v Ivo Karlovic
    Martina Navratilova wins again
  • 2004: Maria Sharapova
    Wimbledon the movie
    Todd Woodbridge
  • 2005: Stephen Huss and Wesley Moodie
    Venus Williams and Lindsay Davenport
  • 2006: Agassi’s last match
  • 2007: Hawk-Eye
    Roger Federer v Rafael Nadal
    Jamie Murray
    Equal prize money
  • 2008: Serena Williams v Venus Williams
    Laura Robson
    Andy Murray v Richard Gasquet
    Rafael Nadal v Roger Federer
  • 2009: The unveiling of the Centre Court roof
    Dinara Safina v Amelie Mauresmo
    Andy Murray v Stan Wawrinka
    Serena Williams v Elena Dementieva
    The 16-14 five-set final


  • 2010: The Royal occasion
    John Isner v Nicolas Mahut
  • 2011: Petra Kvitova
    Novak Djokovic v Rafael Nadal
  • 2012: Roger Federer v Andy Murray

    Serena Williams
    The British fairytale
    The golden set
    The Olympics at Wimbledon
  • 2013: Andy Murray
    Marion Bartoli
    Nadal and Federer lose early
    Bob and Mike Bryan
  • 2014: A repeat of 2011